Sorasyn   -  Apr 03, 2014

So I'm a bit of a newbie with Javascript, and have been doing a good amount of research on click events. Sadly I've yet to resolve my problem of not getting any click events to fire on my pages, not a single one. the JS doesn't even seem to be getting evaluated at any point.

Things I've tried:

• Calling the click event on a CSS classed HTML element.
  • Calling a "live" function on a CSS classed element.

I just need to call a simple click event on one element identified by a css class type. Can anyone offer some suggestions?

Hawkee  -  Apr 04, 2014

Are you defining your click events in $(document).ready?

ProIcons  -  Apr 04, 2014

Its better to Use the jQuery Library. It has everything ready for you.
Thats the site: http://jquery.com/
Thats the Documentation: http://api.jquery.com/
And thats what you need: http://api.jquery.com/click/

Hawkee  -  Apr 04, 2014

I assume you're using jQuery because you mentioned the "live" function.

ProIcons  -  Apr 04, 2014

Well I didnt saw that he mentioned the live function. I didnt see in his topic mentioning jquery so i guessed we wasn't.
for the class element the proper solution with jquery is

$(".classname").click(function() { somecodehere... });
//or
$( document ).on( "click", ".classname", function() { somecodehere... });

A non jquery approach is:

document.getElementsByClassName("classname")[0].onclick = function () { somecodehere... };

jquery .live() has been deprecated.

As of jQuery 1.7, the .live() method is deprecated. Use .on() to attach event handlers. Users of older versions of jQuery should use .delegate() in preference to .live().

Sorasyn  -  Apr 05, 2014

Sorry it's been a busy last few days.

@Hawkee : Yes, I'm defining all events inside of a "ready" event. They generally look something like this.

$(document).ready(function(e) {
      $(".ProfileBar").click(function(e) {
            alert("Profile Bar was clicked!");
      });
});